| License Description|
All levels of emergency medical technicians (EMTs) must be certified. In Nevada, the requirements for certification apply to those individuals not working in Clark County. Certification requirements for emergency medical technicians in Clark County are regulated by Clark County laws and are listed separately.
Applicants for EMT certification must:
1) Be at least 18 years old.
2) Be able to speak and write in English.
3) Complete a 110-hour course developed by the U.S. Dept. of Transportation and approved by the Health Division.
4) Pass a written and practical examination.
5) Have a certificate to provide cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) issued by the American Heart Association or the equivalent approved by the Health Division.
Advanced applicants must meet the basic requirements and have additional specialized training in IV (intravenous) therapy, IO (Intrasseous) infusion, medication administration, and advanced airway management techniques. Applicants must pass the advanced-level exams.
Paramedic applicants must meet the basic requirements, have additional specialized training, have a certificate in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), and pass the advanced-level exams.
Advanced and Paramedic EMTs must be licensed as ambulance attendants and may only perform their skills as part of a permitted ambulance service or fire agency response team.
Continuing education and skills testing is required for certificate renewal. Contact the Division for additional information.
Fees may be subject to change. EMT, Advanced or Paramedic EMT certificate (Nevada resident)--$10; renewal-- $10; late fee for renewal --$10. Ambulance and fire agency attendant license--$10 and fingerprints -- $37.50. Out-of-state residents may apply for reciprocal certification. Fee for reciprocal certificate EMT --$40; Advanced --$50; Paramedic --$60.