License Finder

License Finder

License Finder

Massage Therapist
License Description
Massage Therapists massage customers for hygienic or remedial purposes. "Massage therapy" means the treatment of soft tissues, which may include skin, fascia, and muscles and their dysfunctions for therapeutic purposes of establishing and maintaining good physical condition, comfort, and relief of pain. It is a health care service that includes gliding, kneading, percussion, compression, vibration, friction, nerve strokes, and stretching the tissue. "Massage therapy" also means to engage in the practice of any of the following procedures: a) Massage therapy techniques and procedures, either hands-on or with mechanical devices; b) Therapeutic application and use of oils, herbal or chemical preparations, lubricants, nonprescription creams, lotions, scrubs, powders, and other spa services; c) Therapeutic application of hot or cold packs; d) Hydrotherapy techniques; e) Heliotherapy, which may include mechanical devices, heat lamps, and other devices; f) Electrotherapy; g) Any hands-on bodywork techniques and procedures rising to the level of the techniques and procedures intended to be regulated and not covered under specific licensing laws of other boards. Requirements: 1. Must complete a massage therapy program of at least 500 hours of in-classroom coursework from a Department approved massage therapy school or State approved education institution. Must provide a copy of Massage School Diploma and Massage School Transcript. 2. Must be eighteen years of age or older. 3. Must provide a valid Photo ID. 4. Must provide a copy of social security card. 5. Must have a high school diploma or graduate equivalency diploma. 6. Must provide National Test Score – Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx), or National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMP) Exam Score Report. 7. Must be free of infectious tuberculosis or a condition that could pose a health risk to the public. 8. Must complete an Arkansas Criminal Background Check and FBI Criminal Background Check. 9. Must pass the Arkansas Massage Therapy Law examination. Written Examination required. Application fee: $75.00, License fee: $80.00, Testing (AR Law Exam): $25.00, Criminal Background Check: $38.25
Licensing Agency
Arkansas Department of Health
Massage Therapy Section
4815 West Markham Street, Slot 8
Little Rock , AR 72205
(501) 683 1448
Active Status
Active
Active Military/Veterans
A temporary license available to military and spouses until formal license approval
Continuing Education
Continuing education required
Criminal Record
Background check required
Education
Specific course required
Exam
Both state and third-party exams required
Experience
Experience
License Type
Stand-alone license
License Updated
09/23/2019
Back to Results