| License Description|
Veterinary technicians working in veterinary hospitals must be licensed. Applicants must:
1a) Have graduated from an animal health technology program approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), by the state Education Department (or its equivalent in the state where the college is located) or by the Board, or
1b) Have a bachelor's in an animal science related field and meet the experience requirement listed in item 1d, or
1c) Complete an accelerated veterinary technician program approved by the board and meet the experience requirement listed in item 1d.
1d) Options 1b and 1c must provide proof of at least 4,000 hours of supervised clinical experience in a veterinary hospital that is verified by an active, practicing veterinarian.
2) Pass the Nevada Veterinary Technician Jurisprudence Examination (covering applicable state laws).
3) Pass the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) which is offered three times per year.
4) Provide a letter of recommendation from a person associated with the practice of veterinary medicine.
Veterinary Technician-in-Training: Candidates must be 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, be of good moral character, be enrolled in a school or program of training that is approved by the AVMA or the Board, and participate in training while on the job.
Fees may be subject to change. Fees are: Nevada jurisprudence examination/initial licensing--$100 (VTNE=$300; administered at Prometric Testing Centers); annual license renewal--$75; tech-in-training application - $50.